25 April 2019

Promutuel Insurance reports 6% growth for 2018

Trois-Rivières, April 25, 2019 – At the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting of members held this afternoon in Trois-Rivières, Promutuel Insurance proudly announced a 6% increase in premiums written for 2018, bringing its premium volume to 869 million versus 820 million in 2017.

”This growth is very encouraging, especially in an industry as competitive as the damage insurance industry. Groupe Promutuel’s mutual insurance associations have been instrumental in achieving these results. They do everything they can to better serve our insured members every day,” said Normand Morin, Acting Chief Executive Officer.

Reflecting the new reality facing the industry as a whole, the loss ratio remains high, at 68.4% as at December 31, 2018, compared to 69.0% in 2017. This trend is largely due to the increased frequency of climatic events (e.g., windstorms, floods, tornadoes). Not only has the number of claims increased, but their severity tends to be higher as well. Costs have risen dramatically for everything from rebuilding (home insurance) to vehicle repair, which requires increasingly sophisticated technology, and this has a direct impact on the company’s loss ratio.

As a result of this high loss ratio, Promutuel Insurance ended the year with a combined ratio of 102.6% and a net loss of $5 million. However, this has in no way compromised the company’s financial strength, as evidenced by its 528 million in member assets. “We have already taken important steps to restore profitability. We have a duty to protect our insured members by maintaining a comfortable balance between premium levels and claims costs, and that is exactly what we are continuing to do in their best interest,” said Normand Morin.

Initiatives to better serve members

The last year was marked by the deployment of a new province-wide personal lines insurance policy management system. The new system is designed to enhance the member experience by improving insurance policy content and simplifying company processes. “Our insured members are the driving force behind our everyday actions. We appreciate the trust they place in us year after year, and reiterate our commitment to protecting them in the spirit of mutual assistance, trust, and locally based service,” added Group Chair Yvan Rose.

Mutual assistance, first and foremost

Promutuel Assurance continued to embody its values of mutual assistance and solidarity in 2018 by supporting organizations such as SOCODEVI, Institut Pacifique, Université Laval, Centraide, Forces AVENIR, the Grand défi Pierre Lavoie, and the Canadian Red Cross.

Always loyal to its agricultural origins, the company contributed to the annual Open House on Quebec Farms event and the National Order of Agricultural Merit, while also supporting a multitude of local organizations.

About Promutuel Insurance

Promutuel Insurance is one of the biggest damage insurers in Québec. Renowned for its financial stability, superior quality products, and outstanding customer service, Promutuel Insurance boasts 1,925 employees serving some 630,000 insureds. Promutuel Insurance’s mission is to promote and provide insurance products that meet the needs of its clients. In doing so it provides exceptional, personalized service while fostering the mutualist values that have guided it for 167 years.

-30-

For more information:
Cathy Baillargeon
Communications Advisor
Cathy.Baillargeon@promutuel.ca
1-800-463-4888, ext. 2120

25 Avril 2019

Promutuel Assurance affiche une croissance de 6 % pour l’année 2018

Trois-Rivières, le 25 avril 2019 – Au terme de l’assemblée générale annuelle des membres qui s’est déroulée cet après-midi à Trois-Rivières, Promutuel Assurance était fière d’annoncer une croissance de 6 % de ses primes souscrites pour 2018. Son volume-primes s’élève ainsi à 869 millions, comparativement à 820 millions en 2017.

« Cette croissance est des plus positives, de surcroît dans une industrie aussi concurrentielle que celle de l’assurance de dommages. Les sociétés mutuelles du Groupe Promutuel sont à l’origine de ces résultats. Elles mettent tout en œuvre au quotidien pour toujours mieux servir nos membres-assurés », a souligné d’entrée de jeu le chef de la direction par intérim, M. Normand Morin.

À l’image des nouvelles réalités auxquelles fait face toute l’industrie, le taux de sinistres demeure élevé, se chiffrant à 68,4 % au 31 décembre 2018, alors qu’il était de 69,0 % en 2017. Cette tendance s’explique d’abord par la fréquence grandissante des épisodes climatiques (tempêtes de vent, inondations, tornades). Parallèlement à cette augmentation du nombre de sinistres, leur sévérité se fait également sentir. Qu’il s’agisse de la hausse des coûts de reconstruction en assurance habitation ou de l’augmentation des coûts de réparation des véhicules, de plus en plus sophistiqués sur le plan technologique, les coûts ont explosé et cela a un impact direct sur notre taux de sinistres.

En raison de cette sinistralité élevée, Promutuel Assurance termine l’année avec un taux combiné de 102,6 % et une perte nette de 5 millions. Cela ne compromet toutefois pas sa solidité financière. En effet, elle affiche un avoir des membres de 528 millions. « Nous avons déjà posé des gestes importants pour renouer avec la rentabilité. Nous avons le devoir, pour la protection de nos membres-assurés, de garder un équilibre adéquat entre le niveau des primes et le coût des sinistres, et c’est exactement ce que nous continuons de faire dans leur meilleur intérêt », a précisé Normand Morin.

Des projets au service de nos membres

La dernière année a été marquée par le déploiement provincial d’un nouveau système de gestion des polices en assurance des particuliers. Ce nouveau système a pour avantage d’améliorer l’expérience de nos membres-assurés en bonifiant le contenu de nos polices d’assurance et en simplifiant des processus. « Nos membres-assurés sont le moteur de nos actions quotidiennes. Nous les remercions de la confiance qu’ils nous témoignent, année après année, et leur réitérons notre engagement à assurer leur protection dans un esprit de mutualité, de proximité et de confiance », a ajouté le président du Groupe, M. Yvan Rose.

La mutualité au cœur de nos actions

Encore une fois en 2018, Promutuel Assurance a incarné ses valeurs d’entraide et de solidarité en appuyant de nombreux organismes, tels que la Société de coopération pour le développement international, l’Institut Pacifique, l’Université Laval, Centraide, Forces Avenir, le Grand défi Pierre Lavoie et la Croix-rouge canadienne.

Toujours fidèle à nos origines agricoles, nous avons également contribué à la journée Portes ouvertes sur les fermes du Québec et à l’Ordre national du mérite agricole, en plus de soutenir une multitude d’organismes locaux.

À propos de Promutuel Assurance

Promutuel Assurance figure parmi les plus grands assureurs de dommages au Québec. Reconnue pour sa solidité financière, ses produits de grande qualité et l'excellence de son service à la clientèle, elle compte 1925 employés au service de près de 630 000 membres-assurés. Promutuel Assurance s'est donné comme mission de promouvoir et d'offrir des produits d'assurance qui répondent aux attentes de ses clients. À cet égard, elle assure un service personnalisé de qualité et encourage les valeurs mutualistes qui guident ses actions depuis 167 ans.

-30-

Pour information :
Cathy Baillargeon
Conseillère en communication
Cathy.Baillargeon@promutuel.ca
1 800 510-4630, poste 2120